Division 52 Board of Directors


President 2020
Brigitte Khoury, PhD
American University of Beirut, LebanonAssociate professor of clinical psychology at the Psychiatry Department at the Faculty of Medicine, American University of Beirut. She is the director of the clinical training program, and the director of the Arab regional center for research in mental health. Dr. Khoury worked on the licensing criteria and practice guidelines of psychology in Lebanon. She is a consultant for several NGOs, UN bodies, and the founding president of the Lebanese Psychological Association. She is the vice president of the Arab Union of Psychological Science, and a member of the executive committee of the International Union of Psychological Science

President Elect 2020
Lawrence Gerstein, PhD
Ball State University, USABall State University George and Frances Ball Distinguished Professor of Psychology-Counseling and Director of the Center for Peace and Conflict Studies. He is a trained mediator, Fulbright Scholar, APA Fellow, and expert in conflict prevention and resolution and cross-cultural psychology. Gerstein has extensive external funding including U.S. State Department and U.S. Institute of Peace grants. He has performed peacebuilding, leadership, and “people-to-people” projects in the U.S., Iraq, Pakistan, Jordan, Tajikistan, India, Hong Kong, China, Indonesia, Korea, Israel, Taiwan, and Myanmar. Gerstein is co-editor of the Journal for Social Action in Counseling and Psychology, and International Handbook of Cross-Cultural Counseling: Cultural Assumptions and Practices Worldwide, among others.

Past President 2020
Nancy Sidun, Psy.D.
Tippler Medical Center, Honolulu, Hawaii

Secretary, 2020-2022
Michele Ribeiro, Ed.D, CGP
Oregon State University

Treasurer, 2018-2020
Martha Zlokovich, Ph.D.
Psi Chi InternationalDevelopmental Psychologist and Executive Director of Psi Chi, the International Honor Society in Psychology. Previously she was a Professor at Southeast Missouri State University teaching developmental psychology courses and served as Chair of the Psychology Department and Interim Chair of the Center for Scholarship in Teaching and Learning. Her research interests are student study habits, study beliefs, and persistence to graduation as well as adolescent and young adult contraception and sexuality. She speaks German and is working on Spanish, French, and Italian. She is currently Past President of Society for Psychologists in Management (SPIM) and D52 Treasurer.

Elected Board Members

VP for Communication, 2020-2022
Debbie Best, Ph.D.
Wake Forest University


VP for Initiatives, 2020-2022
Gregory Gormanous, Ph.D.

VP for Engagement, 2019-2021
Lynette Bikos, Ph.D.
Seattle Pacific UniversityProfessor in the Departments of Clinical and Industrial/Organizational Psychology at Seattle Pacific University. She teaches statistics, research methods, and psychometrics courses as Associate Dean for the School of Psychology, Family & Community. Her scholarship falls at the intersections of vocational, global, and sustainable psychology with primary projects evaluating expatriation/repatriation experiences of global families, re-entry growth trajectories following education abroad, and the internationalization of psychology curricula. Lynette has served on the editorial boards of International Perspectives in Psychology, Journal of Vocational Behavior, Journal of Counseling Psychology, Journal of Career Development, and Career Development Quarterly. She is a Fellow of the Western Psychological Association.

Early Career Psychology Committee Chair, 2020
Maria-Cristina Cruza-Guet Ph.D.

Student Committee, Chair 2020-21
Ankita Nikalje
Purdue University

Council Representative, 2019-2021
Neal Rubin, Ph.D., ABPP
Adler University

Ex Officio

Early Career Psychology Committee Past-Chair, 2020 Ex Officio
Katelyn Poelker, Ph.D.

Early Career Psychology Committee Chair-Elect, 2020 Ex Officio
Juan Antonio Valdivia Ph.D.

Student Committee Past Chair, 2020-2021, Ex Officio
Adetutu Ajibose, William James College

Student Committee Chair-Elect, 2020-2021, Ex Officio
Daniel Balva
University of Georgia

Parliamentarian, Ex Officio
Lynn Collins
LaSalle University

Parliamentarian, Ex Officio
Merry Bullock, Ph.D.
Ahimsa International

Bullock is the co-parliamentarian for Division 52 and Secretary-General of the International Council of Psychologists and co-chair of the steering committee for the Global Network of Psychologists for Human Rights. Previously she directed the APA Office of International Affairs, overseeing involvement in international academic, research, and policy. Her scholarship includes co-editing the Handbook of International Psychology (2nd edition), and work on early cognitive development, scientific thinking, developmental aspects of motivation and emotion, and internationalization. She served previously with the International Union of Psychological Science (IUPsyS). Dr. Bullock has lived and worked in Canada, Estonia, Germany, and the United States.

Newsletter Editor, Ex Officio
Stephen DiDonato, Ph.D.
Email: didonato.stephen@gmail.com


Journal Editor, Ex Officio
Stuart Carr, Ph.D.
Massey University