The Outstanding International Psychologist Awards recognize outstanding contributions to international psychology through significant research, teaching, advocacy, and/or contributions to international organizations. An award is given to a psychologist from the United States and to a psychologist from outside the United States.


Each year Division 52 presents two Outstanding International Psychologist Awards: one to a psychologist from the United States and one to a psychologist outside the United States. Individuals who have made outstanding contributions to international psychology and whose work has an impact across countries and cultures are eligible.
Commitment to international psychology is evidenced by, but not limited to:

  • membership in international organizations related to psychology
  • attendance and presentations at international conferences or conferences outside the noninee’s home country/region
  • inclusion of topics related to international psychology in the nominee’s teaching and mentorship
  • involvement with international NGOs or UN-based bodies working internationally
  • engagement in research and or research publications with international colleagues related to international psychology
  • global advocacy.

Recognition of recipients occurs at the Division annual meeting at the APA Convention.

The Award

The award recipients will be recognized at the Division 52 Award Ceremony at the APA convention.

Nomination Process

Nominations deadline is March 15, 2022

Nominations should include:

– Indication whether for a psychologist inside the United States or outside of the United States
– Nominee’s name, institution, email, telephone.
– Nominator’s name and contact information (email, telephone number);
– A brief statement outlining why the nominee is being nominated.
– Nominee’s CV
– 2 letters of Endorsement

For questions, please contact Chair, Nominations and Elections Committee, Larry Gerstein

Make a Nomination

All nominations must be made online here: 2022 Nominations Form

Past Recipients

  • 2021: Dr. Senel Poyrazli, Penn State University, USA
  • 2020: Dr. Irma Serrano-Garcia, University of Puerto Rico (USA); Dr. Klaus Boehnke, Jacobs University (Germany)
  • 2019: Dr. Elena Grigorenko, Baylor College of Medicine (USA); Dr. Reza Zamani, Iranian Psychological Association / University of Tehran (Iran)
  • 2018: Dr. Frank Worrell, University of California, Berkeley; Dr. Alvin S. M. Leung, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
    2017: Michelle Gelfand, PhD (USA), Juan Jose Sanchez Sosa, PhD (Mexico)
  • 2016: Larry Gerstein (USA), Geoffrey Mark Reed (Switzerland; Mexico)
  • 2015: Judith Gibbons, Ph.D. (USA), Janel Gauthier, Ph.D. (Canada)
  • 2014: Shane R. Jimerson & Walter Lonner (USA); Abdel-Sattar Ibrahim (Egypt) & Peter B. Smith (United Kingdom)
  • 2013: Michael Bond (Hong Kong, China); Sarlito Sarwono (Indonesia)
  • 2012: Fathali Moghaddan (USA); Michael Wessells (USA); Kurt Pawlik (Germany)
  • 2011: Michael J. Stevens (USA); Narasappa Kumaraswamy (India)
  • 2010: Oliva Espin (USA); Maria del Pilar Grazioso (Guatemala)
  • 2009: Chris Stout (USA); Marilyn P. Safir (Israel)
  • 2008: Ronald P. Rohner (USA); Ramadan A. Ahmed (non-U.S.)
  • 2007: Kathryn L. Norsworthy (USA), Ronald H. Rozensky (USA)
  • 2006: Gerard A. Jacobs, Ph.D. (USA) and Michel Sabourin, Ph.D. (Canada)
  • 2005: Uwe P. Gielen (USA) and Fanny Cheung ( Hong Kong)
  • 2004: Anthony J. Marsella (USA) and Ruben Ardilla (Colombia)
  • 2003: Nancy Felipe Russo (USA) and John G. Adair (Canada)
  • 2002: Harry C. Triandis (USA) and Susan Pick (Mexico)
  • 2001: Robert F. Morgan (USA) and Elizabeth Nair (Singapore)
  • 2000: Henry P. David (USA), Raymond D. Fowler (USA), Peter Merenda (USA), and Bernhard Wilpert (Germany)
  • 1999: Frances M. Culbertson (USA), Florence L. Denmark (USA), Edwin A. Fleishman (USA), and Charles D. Spielberger (USA)
  • 1998: Michael Knowles (Australia)