Div52 WebsiteBanners PNGs


Henry David was a founding member of Division 52 and a significant contributor to international psychology. In honor of his contributions, Division 52 established the Henry David International Mentoring Award. The Award is presented annually to a member or affiliate of Division 52, who plays an exceptional mentoring role in an international context.

Mentoring may be defined by any of the following activities:

  1. A psychologist who has served as a mentor for international students or faculty member for at least three years.
  2. A psychologist who has mentored students in the area of international psychology, by training, educating, and/or preparing students to be active participants in international psychology.
  3. A senior psychologist who has mentored early career psychologists who are now functioning as international psychologists.
  4. An international psychologist working outside of the United States who serves as a mentor on his/her campus or at his/her agency.

The Award

The award recipient will be recognized at the Division 52 Award Ceremony at the APA convention. 

Nomination Process

Nominations should include

  • A 250 word cover letter
  • Nominee's CV
  • 3 letters of endorsement from former or current mentees.

 Submit nominations materials here. The deadline is April 15 (https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/HenryDavid2020)

Questions? Please email Mentoring Award Committee Chair, Seong-in Choi at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The Henry David Mentoring Award Committee will review the nominations, and their recommendation will be reported to the Division 52 Board of Directors. 

Division 52 International Mentoring Award Recipients

2019: Chiachih DC Wang, Ph.D., University of North Texas
2018: Judith Gibbons, PhD, St. Louis University, Emerita
2017: Ronald P. Rohner, PhD
2016: Helene Hoi-Lam Fung, PhD (non-U.S. based); Irene Lopez, PhD (U.S. based)
2014: John Romano, PhD; Diana Zelman, PhD
2011: Lawrence Gerstein, PhD; Tara Pir, PhD; Harold Takooshian, PhD
2010: Florence Denmark, PhD Raymond Fowler, PhD; Anthony Marsella, PhD
2009: Helen Verdeli, PhD
2008: Puncky P. Heppner, PhD
2007: Ani Kalayjian, PhD
2006: Kathleen Malley-Morrison, PhD
2005: (None)
2004: (None)
2003: Judith Torney-Purta, PhD; Narasappa Kumaraswamy, PhD
2002: Michael J. Stevens, PhD